parasurv@webspace ~ $

My little 10 year old elephant

Date: 2019/12/06

Note: this post is part of my new series of posting every day for December.

Ten years ago today I bought a little elephant statue when I had my first chemotherapy session. My roommate was the nicest guy - he already had some experience - and invited me to go out, and check out the Christmas market nearby. I think it was my second or third day, and my pain in back, has gone, so I was able to move better. I said yes, because finally I am getting out a little.

I had some money with me, because my parents raise me to always have some, even if I just step out for half a day, you never know.

I always loved elephants, they are true family animal. So when I saw that little statue, I had to buy it. It's a baby elephant. Kind of like me, lonely, but still lot to learn at the time. Maybe I should buy an adult elephant statue to sybmolize the change.

But those days were special. It was my first chemo week, and I truly didn't know what to expect. I read and heard horror stories about throwing up all day, and the effect of the chemo. Later I lost hair, twice, and I it looked like I will celebrate Christmas in hospital, but because one of my weekly checkup turned out bad, and I had to stay, the whole schedule altered, so I was at home Christmas with my family. And with my elephant. For me it symbolize resilience, going against odds, that did not absolutely favor me.


testing footer